User Demobilization

Type: User Documentation 22-Nov-2023 | Martynas Pranulis

In this article

During a project, team members will come and go. As they go, it is important to properly remove them from projects and domains to maintain security, data accuracy and the smooth functioning of processes around PIMS. If done manually this would be a tough task even when having to remove only one user using a single PIMS module in one domain. Because of that, PIMS provides an automatic solution to handle this process called demobilization. Demobilization allows you to just select a user to remove, which domains to remove them from and when to do it and PIMS takes care of the rest.

The actions done as part of demobilization vary across modules but a full list of such actions for each module can be found by clicking the "Information" button in the User Demobilization app.


Creating a demobilization

A superuser can start a new demobilization process from the User Demobilization web app by pressing the "New Demobilization" button.

A new demobilization is set up in three steps. In the first step, key information about the demobilization is set, such as:

  • the user to be demobilized;
  • the user that will receive the demobilized user’s actions (if left empty, the actions will simply be removed);
  • when the demobilization should be activated;
  • whether the user should retain access to the domains and modules from which they will be demobilized.

Note that if the user does not have the "general_demobilization_candemobilize" capability, he will only be able to demobilize himself. This means that he will not be able to perform demobilization actions on other users.

In the second step, the domains where the user will be demobilized are chosen. Domains can be selected for demobilization by using the checkboxes in the leftmost column of the grid. The user setting up the demobilization can only select domains in which they have the "Users Demobilization: demobilizing other users in DC module" capability. The only exception to this is if they are setting up their own demobilization. In that case, they can select any domain.

In the third step, the selected domains are verified to check if demobilization can actually be carried out in those domains. After a verification, domains will be assigned one of two statuses: "OK" or "Failed". At least one domain must pass the verification to allow the new demobilization to be submitted.

Though it is possible to submit a demobilization without all domains passing the verification, it is highly recommended to fix the issues in the failed domains before submitting. To see the issues which caused a domain to fail verification, click on the "Failed" text in the status column. This will open a modal with a grid displaying all the problems found in that domain.

The "OK" text in the status field can also be pressed, which will open a modal showing an overview of that user's involvement in the selected domain.

Once the domain verification results are acceptable, the demobilization can be submitted using the "Submit Demobilization" button. This means that the demobilization will now be activated on the date that was set in the first step.


Viewing a demobilization’s status 

The progress of a demobilization can be seen in the "Demobilization Status" column of the "Scheduled Demobilizations" grid in the User Demobilization app. There are four statuses that can be displayed:

  • Not submitted – applies to any demobilization that has not been fully configured and submitted yet;
  • Pending – applies to demobilizations that were submitted and are currently waiting for their activation date. If any of a demobilization’s selected domain fail their verification, this status will show up with a different color and a warning icon;
  • Failed during activation – applies to demobilizations that were pending and reached their activation dates but then errors came up during their activations which prevented them from being completed;
  • Completed – applies to demobilizations that were pending, reached their activation dates and carried out their activations without issues.

A demobilization’s status can be clicked to open a modal with more information about that demobilization. Every status other than "Completed" will show the demobilization’s affected domains and their verification statuses (just like in Step 3 of the New Demobilization app, except that the "OK" status is not clickable). Clicking on the "Completed" status, meanwhile, will display all the actions taken as part of that demobilization’s activation process.


In this article